Gŵyl Fawr Aberteifi

Due to Covid restrictions the eisteddfod will not be held this year again. Never mind – relive previous eisteddfodau here with a selection of programmes , posters and photographs from Keith Ladd’s collection.

Programme cover for the 1898 Eisteddfod. The chair winner was the Mr D B Jones, Co-op stores, Blaenau Festiniog but he didn’t turn up so the ceremony was not held.

The 1909 Eisteddfod was a notable event with thousands attending from all over Wales. It was held in a marquee at Parc-y-rifle. The chair winner was Thomas Evans (Tel), of Cwmamman, Aberdare, but a native of Cardigan and in fact the nephew of the town’s most famous poet Telynog. For more about Tel click here.

Cynan awards the Crown to Dic Jones in 1955
Standing back row: Terry Thomas, Morris (Borough Surveyor), Alun Tegryn Davies, ?, Borough Treasurer, Berwyn Williams, ?, Charles Williams, Revd Milton Jenkins, Lewis, David Peregrine, Richards, Revd Arthur Evans-Williams, Revd Arwyn Phillips
Sitting in the front: Williams, Gwynfi Jenkins, Parry?, Owen M. Owen, Price, ?
Ruth Pritchard, Cynwyl Elfed, the first woman to win the chair – in 1995.
Owen M. Owen (1912-1991), was appointed Secretary in 1953. Managed a shop in Maesglas. Town councillor and three times mayor of Cardigan – 1975, 1977, and 1989. District councillor and chairman in 1979. MBE in 1979.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.